Born lippy: Cheap’n’cheerful plum shades

DSC05367

One of the reasons I wanted to get back into blogging was that I have so many books, DVDs, CDs, TV subscriptions and so much make up that I’m not doing anything with and I wanted to set myself a challenge to make more use of what I have, rather than keep buying lots of new things. I figured that if I blogged about those products, it would make me more likely to use them. So one of the challenges I’ve set myself is to try and use all of my different make-up items at least once this year.

I’ve been buying a lot of eyeshadow palettes-this is largely the fault of Makeup Revolution, especially when they were running 3 to 2 on many of their eyeshadow palettes. Even though I’ve used most of them a little bit, I’ve barely scratched the surface of what they can do and there are many colours that have gone nowhere near my face yet. So I set myself the challenge: each week, I’m gonna have an eyeshadow palette of the week. This week it’s Revolution’s Iconic Elements palette-but more on that once the week is completed. Part of this challenge has been to also use a different lipstick every time I do my eyes and today I’m blogging about the first set of lipsticks.

Continue reading

Adventures in beauty: my first beauty box

2015-07-10 18.15.49

Until I went on sick leave, I don’t think I’d ever heard of a beauty box. This seems quite crazy now, given how many of them I see on beauty blogs, but I guess I wasn’t really looking for that before and it’s only recently come to my attention as a potentially interesting way to try out new products at a reasonable price. That said, like most Brits, I imagine, I am a bit wary of anything that seems too good to be true-so I keep a good deal of scepticism about myself when it comes to this sort of thing. Fortunately, some of the services let you see what’s in the box before you order it-one of those being Latest in Beauty. And after reading a number of reviews of all different kinds of boxes, including the ones by this company, I decided to plump for my first one: the Capital summer beauty box. (What this box has to do with the radio station remains beyond me.)
Continue reading