Born lippy: Cheap’n’cheerful plum shades

DSC05367

One of the reasons I wanted to get back into blogging was that I have so many books, DVDs, CDs, TV subscriptions and so much make up that I’m not doing anything with and I wanted to set myself a challenge to make more use of what I have, rather than keep buying lots of new things. I figured that if I blogged about those products, it would make me more likely to use them. So one of the challenges I’ve set myself is to try and use all of my different make-up items at least once this year.

I’ve been buying a lot of eyeshadow palettes-this is largely the fault of Makeup Revolution, especially when they were running 3 to 2 on many of their eyeshadow palettes. Even though I’ve used most of them a little bit, I’ve barely scratched the surface of what they can do and there are many colours that have gone nowhere near my face yet. So I set myself the challenge: each week, I’m gonna have an eyeshadow palette of the week. This week it’s Revolution’s Iconic Elements palette-but more on that once the week is completed. Part of this challenge has been to also use a different lipstick every time I do my eyes and today I’m blogging about the first set of lipsticks.

DSC05331

Because I was going for a fairly simple look with the eyes, I want to do something a bit bolder with the lips. And so used to wearing very similar shades of lipstick and I’ve been trying to buy more adventurous shades recently to see what, if any, will suit me. So I started with a plum lip crayon and as the day progressed I used more plum/berry tones on my lips.
I began with Collection’s lip butter in Perfect Plum (£2.99). I do like a bit of Collection (cheap; nostalgic; will always be Collection 2000 in my heart), so I picked this one up figuring it would probably be good, and if it wasn’t it was no big deal.

DSC05352

The first thing I noticed was that it does bleed a bit, so I then decided to use a lip liner with it: Revolution’s Rebel lipliner.

DSC05340

Flash off…

...Flash on.  I kind of look like someone's auntie who still goes to Ibiza despite being closer to 40 than 30.  And there is nothing about that I mind, even though I have never been to Beefa (or Cuba #obligatoryneighboursreference)

…Flash on. I kind of look like someone’s auntie who still goes to Ibiza despite being closer to 40 than 30. And there is nothing about that I mind, even though I have never been to Beefa (or Cuba #obligatoryneighboursreference)

I went about my business, going to the shops and so on and the lips held okay. I was quite pleased with the way the colour looked on me-bolder than I would normally work with, but it seemed to go okay with the subtle eye make up and I was quite pleased with the ‘goth-lite’ image I gave off because I’m still a teenager at heart!

This is what I meant by goth-lite...

This is what I meant by goth-lite…

It kept up OK for two hours or so. However, a drink and an ice cream and it was gone clean out of sight. This isn’t necessarily a problem, but you just need to remember to keep it with you. Texture wise, it wasn’t quite as buttery as I expected, and my lips did feel a little bit dry after using it. The lipliner was still going strong!

DSC05353

Instead of replacing this colour I decided to go for a second, and see what would happen. The next product I picked up was Freedom’s pro butter in TGIF (£3). Upon opening the barrel, this was a really lovely shade and I was looking forward to trying it out.

DSC05346

Very initially, signs were OK.

Apologies for awful pic, hopefully you can see the fade in the centre though.

Apologies for awful pic, hopefully you can see the fade in the centre though.

But then: any slight bringing my lips together and it would fade in the centre. Immediately after putting on a coat. And then a second coat. It also bled a lot, despite the lipliner that was still hanging in there (I didn’t replace that, for experiment purposes).

DSC05350

After a couple of minutes, it did settle down to a more universal shade. It wasn’t quite what I expected, I thought it would be more red, but I could live with it.

Not the most flattering of pics, but eh.

Not the most flattering of pics, but eh.

However, after barely an hour’s use it had already faded into next to nothing, my lips felt pretty dry, and even the slightest licking of the lips removed it entirely.

Ridiculous.

Ridiculous.

I was really disappointed-not that I expected an awful lot from Freedom, the prices are very cheap and I know they’ve had mixed reviews, but some of the other lip butters have their fans and I thought this product would be better than it turned out to be. I guess there might be ways of making it more long-lasting-I welcome your thoughts. Oh, and that lipliner? Still there.

DSC05359

DSC05360

I final colour of the day was MUR’s Iconic Pro lipstick in No Perfection Yet (£2.49): a name which bodes well. This is a nice plum shade and it went on pretty evenly.

DSC05364

Ignore the fact my hair needs doing so badly: I dont think my arms can stand 3-hour hairdressing jaunts right now

Ignore the fact my hair needs doing so badly: I dont think my arms can stand 3-hour hairdressing jaunts right now

The texture was the best of the three lip products I wore today: although it did feel like there was something on my lips (I prefer it when a lipstick feels almost invisible), my lips didn’t feel as dry as with the so-called butters and the colour wore pretty well. Food and drink removed it entirely, as you might expect, but at that point I was quite ready to be done with the whole lipstick thing anyway.

DSC05370

After about seven hours and several meals, the lipliner was also finally done for.

Overall, then, these are all incredibly cheap lip products-and to some extent, you get what you pay for. However, the iconic pro lipstick was my favourite of the three main colours and I’ll definitely wear it again. I did like the look of the Collection crayon on me and although it was a bit tricky to work with, I’m happy to persevere with it. The Freedom lip butter, I am less convinced about, unless any of you can suggest a way to make it more successful? I do have a lip primer (I’m not yet convinced about it) so I might use this when I test it out in a primer experiment, but beyond that… However, the surprise stand-out for me was almost an afterthought – I love that lip liner!

Leave a Reply

