Adventures in beauty: my first beauty box

2015-07-10 18.15.49

Until I went on sick leave, I don’t think I’d ever heard of a beauty box. This seems quite crazy now, given how many of them I see on beauty blogs, but I guess I wasn’t really looking for that before and it’s only recently come to my attention as a potentially interesting way to try out new products at a reasonable price. That said, like most Brits, I imagine, I am a bit wary of anything that seems too good to be true-so I keep a good deal of scepticism about myself when it comes to this sort of thing. Fortunately, some of the services let you see what’s in the box before you order it-one of those being Latest in Beauty. And after reading a number of reviews of all different kinds of boxes, including the ones by this company, I decided to plump for my first one: the Capital summer beauty box. (What this box has to do with the radio station remains beyond me.)

2015-07-10 18.16.37

For the unenlightened, a beauty box contains a range of products-a mixture of full size and travel size-from make-up to skincare to shower gel to accessories and so on. They’re basically a sample where the different companies to try and lure you in with a nice taster and the whole thing, of course, comes in at significantly cheaper than the cost of the individual products alone. Of course, that means you’re going to get some products that you really like and others that are, for you, are a complete waste of space. For this reason, I’m glad that my first box was one where I knew what I was getting beforehand and one where I’d seen a number of positive reviews of the content.

2015-07-10 18.18.51

The two key things that attracted me to this box were two make=up items (surprise). The first of these was the MUA Poptastic palette, a selection of 12 lovely colourful eyeshadows. Anyone who knows me in real life, you’ll know that I’m a real colour lover, and although I have more colours than I could wear in three lifetimes, these shades were largely ones that I didn’t have and I can never resist a palette like this. I nearly bought one in Superdrug actually the other week, but I’m glad I waited.

2015-07-10 18.18.03

The other thing I wanted was the NailsInc gel polish. This came in two different varieties and initially I was disappointed to get the blue one rather than the Aqua, but actually the blue’s a nice shade. It’s a good quality polish with a nice sheen and NailsInc usually have a pretty good formula so either colour was always going to be a winner for me.

2015-07-10 18.18.19

There is also an MUA mascara, although I’m not that excited about this, as I’ve not heard much about their mascaras and they do have a bunch of others to use up before I get onto that.

2015-07-10 18.17.49

Of the other products, I’ve yet to use most of them. The Carmex lip tint is a nice little stick with a very subtle hint of red-almost undetectable on my lips. As I’m a lip balm lover, this was nice, however, it will have to go some way to beat Vaseline and Eos balms and as of yet am not sure it’s as moisturising as them.

2015-07-10 18.17.26

The Hawaiian Tropic suncream’s in a decent sized bottle and should go down well, although we may have already had the British summer, so this might be a little bit too late.

2015-07-10 18.17.41

2015-07-10 18.16.55

There are quite a few little travel sizes in there, I love travel sizes, so I’m looking forward to testing these out when I next go away.

2015-07-10 18.17.17

There’s also a decent amount of facial mask. I do like a facemask, although I absolutely hate removing them, so I don’t wear them that often. Again, I’ll report back once I’ve had a go. This brand tends to have a good rep, though, and the best ever hand cream I’ve used in my life (which I can’t remember the name of and can’t find online) was from the Dead Sea, which bodes well.

2015-07-10 18.18.32

There’s also a can of dry shampoo. I’m a bit eh on the dry shampoo phenomenon but maybe it’ll be better than others I’ve used.

2015-07-10 18.17.09

The final product is a full size can of fudge purple coloured hairspray. I feel I’m probably too old for this product, but I might give it a go come Tramlines weekend anyway.

2015-07-10 18.16.12

Overall, I’m quite happy with the box. It cost 18 quid (plus p and p) and I definitely wouldn’t have wanted to pay more, but I got a decent amount of full-size product from it and, other than the hairspray potentially, I should be able to get use out of everything that was in it. It doesn’t make me want to leap into the unknown enough to sign up for Glossybox, Birchbox, Cohorted etc – although I have also signed up for my first subscription beauty box: Nailbox, unsurprisingly, which is due next week.

One thought on “Adventures in beauty: my first beauty box

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Beauty: Selfridges summer beauty box 2015 | Radical Departures

Leave a Reply

