Palette test: Urban Decay Naked Smoky

DSC05864

Like every other blogger on the planet, I’ve been trying out Urban Decay’s latest palette, Naked Smoky. To be honest, what I have to say about it is probably not that different from what everyone else is saying, but I’m gonna persevere with yet another review anyway because I did at least wear the thing several times to form my opinion!

DSC05863

The palette comprises 12 shades, a mixture of neutrals, smokes, mattes and shimmers. It is encased in beautiful plastic packaging and comes with a little how-to guide (which I didn’t actually use yet) and a really nice double-ended brush.

DSC05865

I actually really love the brush. It’s soft, it blends well, and the smudging end works really well to getting into the crease, something I always find quite difficult when applying shadow.

Flash on

Flash on

Flash off

Flash off

Flash on

Flash on

Flash off

Flash off

Smokin'

Smokin’

Look, for me this is smoky, OK?

Look, for me this is smoky, OK?

I went for four looks as I realised that the other three were all a bit too daytime friendly and didn’t really emphasise the smokiness of the palette, so I did a rough and ready smoky eye as well.

DSC05826

The palette is surprisingly daytime friendly.

DSC05858

Although it doesn’t look like there are loads of neutrals on first glance, most of the shades are quite subtle and these building up to get to a proper dark state. This means that even some of the dark greys can be worn in daytime without looking odd.

DSC05827

You can go super-pale, even using some of the darker shades.  Note the glitter fallout ON NEWLY APPLIED FACE.

You can go super-pale, even using some of the darker shades. Note the glitter fallout ON NEWLY APPLIED FACE.

The shades are incredibly beautiful and provide a decent range of colours and that was really what swayed me to buy it (that and getting £10 off at feel unique when there was a discount code going around). However, there is one massive problem with the shades and that is GLITTERFACE.

Excuse the unflattering angle of my schnozz - trying to demonstrate the glitter falling effect after a few hours wear.

Excuse the unflattering angle of my schnozz – trying to demonstrate the glitter falling effect after a few hours wear.

That white speck between my nose and lip?  Huge chunk of glitter.  Not that much glitter remains on the eyes.

That white speck between my nose and lip? Huge chunk of glitter. Not that much glitter remains on the eyes.

Seriously. All of the glitter shades (High, Radar, Armour) have major, major fallout issues. Whilst I can put up with huge chunks of glitter on my cheeks for a night time look or a day when I’m not doing anything important like going into work (fortunately the days I wore the glitter shades were not work days), I really wouldn’t want to be in a meeting trying to be taken seriously with huge lumps of glitter all over the place. So while this is a daytime friendly palette, I would stay clear of those super glitter shades and leave them only for night time. I’m hoping that the inevitable dupes make a better fist of those shades than Urban Decay have done.

I know they all look the same in pics but they are different, honest!

I know they all look the same in pics but they are different, honest!

The wear time on the shades is fine, glitter falling off the eyes onto the face aside. They blend well, although they do need quite a bit of buildup to get to a dark shade. I used them with primer every time as I’m told they don’t apply so well without it. I wonder if this is a ploy from Urban Decay to get you to buy their primer potion.

Overall, this is a nice palette. The colours are really pretty and the brush is great, as is the packaging. However, it isn’t amazing. It’s definitely not worth £38 and, to be honest, it probably isn’t worth the £28 that I paid for it. I’m glad I bought it, because it was a little treat to myself and I’ll definitely get plenty of use out of it. However, if you’re on the fence, you might want to wait until a cheaper dupe comes out.

Next time: Makeup Revolution’s Mermaids Forever.

2 thoughts on “Palette test: Urban Decay Naked Smoky

Leave a Reply

