Palette test: Makeup Revolution Iconic Elements

DSC05424

In an attempt to ‘shop my stash’, I have set myself a challenge. I’m going to attempt to use all of my eyeshadow palettes (and there are a lot)-roughly speaking, it’ll be one palette a week, although the frequency will vary according to how often I wear make-up, and how often I change up looks between daytime and nighttime. The parameters of the challenge I set myself are to create three different looks per palette (monos, quads and other small palettes will be used in conjunction with other smallies), and two of those looks must be exclusively with palette shades, whereas the third can bring in other shades if needed. I’m also trying to use a variety of my other make-up products, but the focus of these posts will be on eyeshadows themselves.

DSC05423

The first palette I decided to challenge myself with was a fairly easy one: Make-up Revolution’s Iconic Elements. This is a 12-shade palette, made up of 11 mattes and one shimmer. It’s in the same (‘Iconic’) range as their Naked dupes and this one is meant to be a dupe for Naked Basics 1 and 2. I don’t have Naked Basics 1, although I bought 2 from Beauty Bay last week when they were doing it for just over £13 in the sale.

As you can see from the swatches, there are some good matches-and I guess the same is true of Naked Basics 1, although I don’t like that palette as much as number two. I have not yet worn my Naked palette, so I’ll compare longevity, application and so on at a later date. Obviously the Naked palette has much better packaging and is much more portable, one of the reasons why I bought it (although there was no way I would pay full price for it-I think they’re ridiculously overpriced at £23 given a full Naked palette is £38).

DSC05337

Look #1

Look #1

Look #1

Anyway, the three looks I chose for the Iconic Elements challenge were: one very subtle look to contrast with the plum lipstick; one medium one with nude lips and one smoked up look with bright lips, which was the medium one topped up with darker tones and the shimmer shade in the inner-eye and under the eyebrow for night time.

Look #2

Look #2

Look #2

Look #2

Look #3

Look #3 – apologies for the rubbish photo

Look #3

Look #3

Between the three looks I used all of the shades in the palette except the black, which I suppose I could have used for an eyeliner but I was using actual eyeliners instead as they’re easier to work with. The shadows applied well, although there was some kickback in the palette when using brushes. It’s difficult to tell from the photographs but there is some blending in shading going on! I found that the shades lasted several hours: the first look probably up to 8 hours; the other looks it was hard to tell because one was built on top of the other. However, the distinction between shades didn’t last very long and they all blended together during the course of where. This may, in part, be due to my overzealous blending-I’m yet to learn the fine art!

All in all, this is a solid palette for an everyday look. It’s one that I’ve worn several times to work and I think its main strength is that it looks good in a day-to-day setting where you don’t want your make-up to stand out. However, it’s not the most exciting range of colours in the world, and some of the colours are very similar to one another. With hindsight, I should have used this on a working week rather than a week I was off! It’s a decent set of base colours and much better value than the Naked Basics palettes, although much less transportable. For four quid, you can’t go wrong if you want a set of everyday mattes. However, I’m looking forward to kicking things up with the next few palettes. Next on my list: Zoeva’s Chocolate Box palette.

Leave a Reply

