Gonna party like it’s the end of the world

2012

2012 then. It’s been a funny old year in some respects. If 2011 was when all the news in the world happened at once, then this year was essentialy when all the Britishness happened. Or something.

2012 London Paralympic Games - Day Five

I hadn’t planned to get swept up in Jubilympics fever, but I totally did – aided by my buying a new TV at the start of the Olympics, which made everything look super-sparkly, especially the swimming. I was so caaught up in the Olympics and Paralympics and gutted when they were over, which is why they were my favourite TV show of the year – and I include the evening shows The Last Leg and the thing with Gabby Logan on it in that. The competition was mostly old stuff: Doctor Who only had six episodes, but they were crackers, with Chris Chibnall shocking the world by pulling two decent episodes out of the bag. The Great British Bake-Off is surely due a BBC One transfer and Strictly slew all (or The X Factor, anyway- which was only worth it for Nicole Scherzinger, who was excellent value) in its wake. The new guard of TV has done OK: Call the Midwife feels like it’s been on TV for years already, and Fresh Meat and Bad Education both proved that Jack Whitehall is funnier than you’d have suspected.

Top Ten TV of 2012:

1. Olympics/Paralympics
2. Great British Bake-Off
3. Doctor Who
4. Sherlock
5. Fresh Meat
6. Neighbours
7. The Killing
8. Call the Midwife
9. Masterchef: The Professionals
10. Strictly Come Dancing

Incidentally, is it just me, or did Channel 4’s who reality/factual/lifestyle arm utterly fail this year?

Music-wise, I’ve felt massively out of touch in that all the albums/singles I bought were either old favourites or huge chart hitters. So far gone are the days of being trendy. And my favourite album of the year is by Lana Del Ray and we’re all supposed to hate her now, right? But I bought fewer albums this year than in some time, and the ones I did buy I didn’t rate too highly. Singles-wise, for ages my favourite singles were Emily Sunday and Gotye but over-exposure has done for both of them although I’ll still give them honorary top ten places. Music fared better on the live side of things, with another epic Tramlines, the fun Sheftival, Kylie’s Anti-Tour, Roxette and Pulp among the highlights. Kylie’s K25 was all kinds of wonderful, even if my gay male friends are utterly divided on the merits of the Abbey Road sessions.

Albums of the year

1. Lana Del Ray – Born to Die
2. Roxette – Travelling
3. Rodriguez – Searching for Sugarman soundtrack
4. Kylie – The Abbey Road Sessions
5. Richard Hawley – Standing at Sky’s Edge

Singles of the Year (yes, I know a couple of these were out in 2011, but 2012 was the year they got big)
1. Roxette – It’s Possible
2. Kylie – Flower
3. Lana Del Ray – Born to Die
4. Gotye feat Kimbra – Somebody That I Used to Know
5. Florence and the Machine – Spectrum (Calvin Harris remix)
6. David Guetta feat Sia – Titanium
7. Emile Sande – Next to Me
8. Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks
9. Kylie – Timebomb
10. Little Mix – Wings

I didn’t read many books that were released this year, but found Miranda Hart’s Is it Me? very funny, the Hunger Games trilogy a good read, Fifty Shades of Grey bad but not as bad as its reputation and I’m enjoying JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy so far. I saw a fair bit of theatre, alongside some acting and directing – but as I mainly saw Sheffield-based performances, it seems a bit unfair to rank it.

I saw a LOT of films, too. The Unlimited card does make me want to get my money’s worth (and I still went to the Showroom plenty in addition to Cineworld) and there were several films I enjoyed, along with some I didn’t so much – including The Artist and The Hobbit, as I’ve blogged about before. I’ve seen few things I will love until I die, but lots that are worth the time, including things I didn’t expect to like as much as I did, such as Skyfall, Prometheus, Ted and 21 Jump Street

Top twenty films of the year

1. Avengers Assemble
2. Looper
3. Searching for Sugarman
4. The Descendants
5. Moonrise Kingdom
6. The Hunger Games
7. The Muppets
8. The Imposter
9. Jeff, Who Lives At Home
10. 21 Jump Street
11. Ted
12. We Need to Talk About Kevin
13. Brave
14. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World
15. Life of Pi
16. The Silver Linings Playbook
17. Ruby Sparks
18. Safety Not Guaranteed
19. Friends With Kids
20. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Beyond all of that, I guess stuff happened. We lost Jo Dunne from Fuzzbox among others, I finally got rid of the PhD, I went to New York, went on the actual TARDIS, put on a few more pounds, failed to buy a house, did bits and pieces… it’s not been the worst year, but it’s not been the best. On a non-sport level, it’s just been one of those nothingy years like 1986, 1993, 2003 or 2009. But at least the world didn’t end 🙂

Leave a Reply

