Holding back the years

And so we come to the end of a decade.  I like the fact that I’ve lived through three decades in their entirety (well, almost – I missed the first eight weeks of 1980) rather than having been born part way through a decade.  It makes it easier to see history in decade-sized chunks, which is how people tend to categorise it anyway.  Seeing as this is my blog, I guess it makes sense to talk about my 2000s (which I still can’t bear to call the noughties).

It’s been a weird decade, not as full of momentous change as the 90s (I can’t imagine any decade will be given I started 1990 at nine and ended 1999 about to turn twenty) but full of a lot of major life-altering stuff nonetheless – much good, much very bad indeed.

My twenties have been a weird time.  I haven’t bought a house, got married, moved in with a partner or had any children though many of my friends have done some or all of these.  I have had two careers, been made redundant, finished two degrees and started a third, been in hospital multiple times, had a faith, lost a faith, taken funerals, attended funerals, been homeless, moved house several times, been on the dole, been on incapacity benefit, had a lot of laughs, been a children’s worker, a DJ, a web designer, a sort-of-minister, an administrator, a writer and a lecturer, bought my first, second and third cars, had multiple mobile phones, been shafted by T-Mobile, fallen in love with the internet, been stabbed in the back, been to Sweden, France, Italy, Germany and the Czech Republic, travelled to lots of bits of Britain, met hundreds of amazing new people (and a few people who wouldn’t spit on you if you were on fire), had a car crash, had a car stolen, bought a LOT of CDs, played lots of games, been supported by amazing friends I made way before this decade and will keep way beyond it and most of all, I have grown up a lot.

I am very excited about my thirties – bring on the 2010s!

I like to sum things up best in terms of songs, so these songs pretty much sum up the “journey” (surely the decade’s buzz word?) I’ve had…


(2000 – kids work)


(2000-2002 – when religion seemed like the world)


(both songs: 2003-7 – when it all fell apart)


(2007-9 – when it all became amazing)

As for the all-important end of a decade lists, here are mine…

Top telly of the decade

10 Big Brother / Castaway 2000

9 Child of Our Time

8 Gavin and Stacey

7 Teachers

6 Screenwipe/Newswipe/Gameswipe

5 The Smoking Room

4 The Apprentice

3 Life on Mars/Ashes to Ashes

2 Damages

1 Doctor Who/Torchwood/Sarah Jane Adventures

Top singles of the decade

10 Cherry Lips – Garbage

9 Matinee – Franz Ferdinand

8 I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor – Arctic Monkeys

7  Stone By Stone – Catatonia

6 Sound of the Underground – Girls Aloud

5 One Wish – Roxette

4 One Day Like This – Elbow

3 Everything – Alanis Morissette

2 The One – Kylie Minogue

1 Standing in the Way of Control – Gossip

Top books of the decade

10 The Damned United – David Peace

9 Atonishing Splashes of Colour – Clare Morrall

8 White Teeth – Zadie Smith

7 Various Adrian Mole books – Sue Townsend

6 Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – JK Rowling

5 We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver

4 The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffennegger

3 The Year of Living Biblically – A J Jacobs

2 All his books – Charlie Brooker

1 All their books – Danny Wallace and Dave Gorman

Top films of the decade

10 Star Trek

9 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

8 Thank You For Smoking

7 Milk

6 Bruce Almighty

5 Mama Mia

4 All of Pixar’s output

3 Memento

2 Goodbye Lenin

1 Hairspray

Top albums of the decade

10 Pink – Missundaztood

9 Scissor Sisters – Scissor Sisters

8 KT Tunstall – Eye to the Telescope

7 Catatonia – Paper Scissors Stone

6 Garbage – Beautiful Garbage

5 Roxette – Room Service

4 Alanis Morissette – Under Rug Swept

3 Roxette – The RoxBox

2 Kylie Minogue – Light Years

1 Kylie Minogue – X

2 thoughts on “Holding back the years

  1. I in contrast like having been born 1/2 sway through a decade. It means that although I was too young to remeber much of the 70s (apart from the appaling clobber the only thing I have as a genuine memory was the ’79 election result) the 80s are totally my decade.

  2. Ruth I love your summary posts – they’re fantastic!!!
    im really sorry for not keeping in touch as much as i perhaps should… facebook is quite eveil for that… :S
    ah well, hoping to see more of you this year!
    you kow yo’re welcome up should you fancy a visit to the north east.. lots up here you’d like… and it would be great to see you!”
    ill keep you posted as well as to when i make it to sheffield.

    miss you,

    sara
    x

Leave a Reply

