Young and sweet, only seventeen


Little Dorrit

I have never been a big bonnet lover. I try, because costume dramas are always praised to the high heavens, and they always have a cast to die for. But I always fail. However, I have finally managed to sit through one in its entirety (well almost, it hasn’t finished yet). I think the half-hour episodes have helped, as has the hayuuuuuge and amazing cast (including, deep breath, Maxine Peake, Tom Courtenay, Pam Ferris, Freema Agyeman, Matthew McFadyen, Russell Tovey, Andy Serkis, Amanda Redman, Ruth Jones, Janine Duvitski and dozens more). Anyway, it’s been a delight: well acted, well presented and well told. Who knows, I might even get into some more bonnety dramas eventually.

Sam Sparro – Black and Gold

It took me quite a while to warm to this chart conquering meditation on the existence of God, but like many other catchy cheesy choons (see also Wiley, Flo Rider, The Ting Tings, Gabriella Cilmi etc) it won me over by its sheer tunesmithery. Oh, and Camilla and Tom danced to it on Strictly wearing black and gold. See what they did there?

Official video – I won’t subject you to the Strictly singers mauling it.

One thought on “Young and sweet, only seventeen

Leave a Reply

