Fat bottomed girls you make the rocking world go round


It’s been a while, I know. Things have been busy. We’ve settled into the new semester with fewer hiccups than usual, and considering we have moved campus as well, that’s pretty astonishing. The new freshers seem nice enough, too. The play is coming on quite well, although we do only have 5 or 6 weeks til curtain up, which is quite scary. I am making progress with the whole voulntary work area and I think my challenge might be to only do one thing instead of the two I am considering. On a more tricksy note, Mirrie was taken into hospital at the weekend. Fortunately she’s going to be OK, but it was a scary time.

I’ve also invested in a Wii and Wii Fit. I go to swimming/exercise classes 3 times a week on a Lincoln week, 4 times on a non-Lincoln week and can’t fit any more in, because of their timetable and mine, so I thought a Wii Fit might help fill in the gaps. I’ve also bought (but only got today so not tried yet) Charlie Brooks’ exercise DVD for the same reason.

I’m really sick of being overweight (or obese, according to the Wii Fit, though that may be due to my ridiculous chest size and therefore weight) and have been trying hard to shift it for months now: I’ve massively reduced snacking, juices, smoothies (healthy but calorific) and alcohol and have cut down on portion sizes for oil, cheese, pasta, rice, couscous and quinoa. I eat tons of veg and barely any fat or processed stuff anyway. I’ve also been very loosely following a Weight Watchers type thing without the classes and paying and stuff. It’s generally been going OK, apart from Thursday nights with the gang and last Saturday’s night out, but I am not losing any weight at all. I spoke to the doc about it who agrees I should be losing weight with my exercise and diet, so am going to see the nurse in a couple of weeks to discuss diet further (I guess food allergies might be a possibility) and to have a blood test in case I have a thyroid issue. The doc might put me on some pills to help but I’d rather avoid that if I can.

I do worry though that I won’t ever lose weight, for two reasons: genetics – I am the slimmest person on my mother’s side of the family and I’m not slim – and the pill. I put on a couple of stone almost overnight when I started taking the pill, but I’ve tried to come off it three times and the side effects are just too bad.

It’s all vanity, I know, as I am pretty fit and healthy, but dammit, people can eat all kinds of shit and look healthy, and I am becoming increasingly puritan and look like I’m the chip shop’s best customer. Rubbish.

Weight aside, I am working through the booker shortlist (and longlist), which is something I haven’t done for a couple of years. So far, The Clothes on Their Backs was alright and I liked The Secret Scripture quite a bit. I’m excited about getting into the rest.

Leave a Reply

