A little bit of Monica in my life, a little bit of Jessica by my side


Not been blogging for ages, not because there is nothing to say, but because when I think of things to say, I don’t have time to say them, and when I have time I don’t have energy. C’est la vie and all that. So here’s a bit of a pick and mix post…

Today
Today has been unremittingly shit: I had to get up at the crack of dawn to get a train to Brum to do an interview, and then when I got there, my interviewee texted to say he had been called to London at the last minute and could we resechedule. So, OK, a day in Brimingham isn’t so bad, but when it’s sheeting it down with rain non-stop… Well, there’s only so much of the Bullring centre a girl can take. Tired. Wet. Tired and wet. Back to Sheff and walking through loads of puddles in long jeans and a non-waterproof coat. Not a happy bunny. Oh, and then my laptop nearly died and still might be a bit sick. Stil, Darnell and Rex won’t win BB, so that’s something.

TV that makes you think
There seems to have been a lot of this about lately: from things like Masterchef The Professionals and Maestro that make you think about the processes involved, to God on Trial, the very powerful holocaust drama the other night, to Watch Me Disappear, the C4 programme about missing persons that was unbearably sad and needed a proper 9pm hour long slot, because its 730 slot rushed it too much.

Of course, I’m also loving the brainless telly like Come Dine With Me and Ugy Betty but it’s good to have some heavy duty and some plain interesting stuff, too.

PhD
Well, it has been going OK-ish, but after today’s non-interview experience I am hacked off again.

Hmmm…. had plenty more t say but have a brain freese, brought on my conjunctivitis and thus wearing my glasses which automatically makes me ten times slower and thicker, and an extreme lack of sleep. Back when I remember.

Leave a Reply

