Get in shape, girl

Having seen the heffalump in the Comic Potential photographs, I decided I needed to get serious about my ever-expanding weight. I’ve not been un-serious about it before, but action is needed. I am never going to be slim as such, as all the women in my family (well, on my mum’s side, and there aren’t that many women on my dad’s side to compare with) are big, and I definitely have a Shepherdson/Connell figure rather than a Deller one.

Food is a bit of an issue, but I’m gradually doing things about that – there’s no way I’d ever stick to an actual diet, so small steps, slowly. And I don’t want to become one of those people for whom certain things are off-limits. Food is great. But perhaps in smaller quantities.

So I’ve decided to come off the pill (although I think I’m going to have to do it gradually going on the MONSTER HEADACHES I get trying to go cold turkey) because I put on a stack of weight when I went on it, and to exercise more.

I have been exercising on a regular basis for about six or seven years now, but I kind of stop and start. I’ll go three or four times a week for three or four weeks, then I won’t go for three weeks or so, then I’ll start again. This pattern has gotten noticed at the gym, though, so I’ve been getting better. The problem is in the weeks when I don’t have the time to go – but there isn’t one of those for a while. With working from home a lot at the moment, I don’t have many excuses.

I usually swim and go to the gym, but I need to push my body more as I think it has got accustomed to that level of exercise (and also, I hate the gym) so I have started to take classes. I’m doing yoga (no I’m not going to become a Buddhist or anything) and aerotone (areobics/weights), and I may take on aquafit. I also make sure one of my swimming sessions falls on an aquagym day (I love the aquagym). Although I’ve not lost any weight through my years of exercise, I was pleasantly surprised at my first aerotone class yesterday. I was able to do much more than I thought I would – I could do all the exercises other than my balance being a bit out (and my strength being a bit pissweak) without getting too out of breath or in pain. I’m obviously a lot fitter than I realised, which is nice. I’ve never been fit before, and now I am. Fat, but fit. It’s a start.

Leave a Reply

