Sometimes it’s hard to be a woman


I went swimming this morning. I haven’t been for probably four or five weeks now. this is fairly typical of me. I go regularly for four or five weeks, then I get busy or ill or I’m away, and I get out of the habit. Then I pick it up, then drop it, and so on. Only today when I went in, the guy behind the desk was like ‘how are you? Haven’t seen you for a while?’ Bugger. My erratic behaviour is now noticed. And when I left I promised I’d be in tomorrow. So I better go. I may no longer have a huddle or a Diane or a Jen to keep me in line but I can’t help being accountable anyway…

Uni was interesting yesterday, as we did our race and religion stuff. Finally, for some of them, the penny dropped when they were looking through magazines to see the different races of the people featured and when asked to look at characters in programmes from different racial/religious groups. When they realised the overly high percentages of white and non-religious people they were actually shocked. We had some good lessons, actually, as they tried to grapple with whether Borat and Little Britain were racist, whether different music types being so closely linked to racial groups was a good thing, where the prominent Sikhs, Hindus, Buddhists, Catholics and Jews were on TV and why Torchwood wasd the only British programme we could think of with a character from Japanese (or Chinese) origin.

Oh, and in good news alerts, Desperate Housewives and The Apprentice both return for series 4 on the 26th. We will be blogging the latter: http://theapprentbitch.blogspot.com . And COmic Potential, the next play, is on from April 31-May 4 at the Uni Drama Studio should you want to come. All proceeds are going to Bluebell Wood hospice.

Leave a Reply

